What We Mean When We Say Abuse and Neglect

The Care Act 2014 identifies 10 types of abuse and neglect which are listed below

Physical Organisational
Psychological Financial
Neglect Modern Slavery
Self-neglect Sexual
Discriminatory Domestic Abuse

This is how the Care Act categorises the types of harm caused by people on ‘adults at risk’.

Abuse can happen for many reasons, below are just some to think about –

  • Intentional, Non-Intentional and deliberate acts of abuse by people
  • Shortage of staff; cutting corners, carer not coping
  • Control, perception, power, colluding
  • Lack of training, inexperience, of staff, volunteers or carers
  • Attitudes, lack of respect, normalising bad practice, boredom

Return to the Safeguarding Adults Page